A Blog About Everything Sports

Another Blog About Sports- Both Local and National

Report: David Ortiz and Manny Ramirez said to be on 2003 Doping List

Posted by Gene Morris on July 30, 2009

David Ortiz and the Red Sox will have a lot of explaining to do after his name has reportedly been confirmed to be on the 2003 MLB Doping List

David Ortiz and the Red Sox will have a lot of explaining to do after his name has reportedly been confirmed to be on the 2003 MLB Doping List

Just saw this on Jon Heyman’s twitter, according to the New York Times, lawyers with close knowledge of that infamous 2003 doping list say that David Ortiz and Manny Ramirez’s name’s are among the 103 listed.

Manny has already been suspended for 50 games this season for failing a drug test, but Ortiz has been been outspoken against steroid users, even telling the AP earlier this year that those who test positive should be banned “for the whole year.”

If this all turns out to be true, it’s not much of a surprise to see Manny on the list. But what about Ortiz? Boston’s folk hero, who apparently just needed a change of scenery to go from a 15-20 home run guy to a perennial 40 home run guy, has been in a terrible slump this season, is hitting only .224 with 13 home runs.

With the way the entire Red Sox lineup is slumping as the team falls further behind the Yankees, it’ll surely be an interesting weekend for the Sox.

UPDATE: Ortiz released this statement after the game today, via the Associated Press.

“Today I was informed by a reporter that I was on the 2003 list of MLB players to test positive for performance-enhancing substances. This happened right before our game, and the news blindsided me. I said I had no comment because I wanted to get to the bottom of this.

“I want to talk about the situation and I will when I have more answers. In the meantime I want to let you know how I’m approaching this situation. One, I have already contacted the Players Association to confirm if this report is true. I have just been told that the report is true. Based on the way I have lived my life, I’m surprised to learn I tested positive. Two, I will find out what I tested positive for. And, three, based on whatever I learn, I will share this information with the club and the public. You know me – I will not hide and I will not make excuses.

“I want to thank my family, the Red Sox, my teammates, and the fans for their patience and support.”

One Response to “Report: David Ortiz and Manny Ramirez said to be on 2003 Doping List”

  1. Do they serve crow at Fenway?

Leave a Reply

 
